Chernobyl Prayer: A Chronicle of the Future

Chernobyl Prayer: A Chronicle of the Future, Alexievich Svetlana
Alexievich Svetlana
Издательство: Penguin
Год издания: 2016
ISBN: 978-0-241-27053-0
1110 руб купить


This book offers a startling history of the Chernobyl disaster by Svetlana Alexievich, the winner of the Nobel prize in literature 2015. On 26 April 1986, at 1.23am, a series of explosions shook the Chernobyl nuclear reactor. Flames lit up the sky and radiation escaped to contaminate the land and poison the people for years to come. While officials tried to hush up the accident, Svetlana Alexievich spent years collecting testimonies from survivors — clean-up workers, residents, firefighters, resettlers, widows, orphans — crafting their voices into a haunting oral history of fear, anger and uncertainty, but also dark humour and love. With a chronicle of the past and a warning for our nuclear future, Chernobyl Prayer shows what it is like to bear witness, and remember in a world that wants you to forget.


Другие книги автора

Boys in Zinc, Alexievich Svetlana Boys in Zinc
Автор: Alexievich Svetlana
Изд: Penguin
1209 руб купить

Другие книги издательства

Fame, Warhol Andy Fame
Автор: Warhol Andy
Изд: Penguin
161 руб купить
Lance, Nabokov Vladimir Lance
Автор: Nabokov Vladimir
Изд: Penguin
161 руб купить
Turtles All the Way Down, Green John Turtles All the Way Down
Автор: Green John
Изд: Penguin
822 руб купить
Of Mice and Men, Steinbeck John Of Mice and Men
Автор: Steinbeck John
Изд: Penguin
833 руб купить

Другие книги серии